Langkawi is a group of islands that belong to the state of Kedah of Malaysia. Therefore all visitors coming to Langkawi from overseas countries will require to carry the same travel documents as applicable for most part of Malaysia.

If you are arriving directly in Langkawi from your home country, then depending on your place of arrival (i.e. international airport, cruise terminal, ferry terminal at Kuah etc), you will need to pass through the customs and immigration formalities as you disembark. However if your initial port of disembarkation in Malaysia was elsewhere (for example in Kuala Lumpur where you would have cleared the customs & immigration), then no further formalities would be required in Langkawi.

In the following sections, you will know about the travel documents required by foreign visitors coming to Langkawi, or for that matter, to any part of Malaysia. NOTE: Immigration regulations are subject to change. You may like to check the website of Langkawi Department of Immigration for all current updates (

Passport & Travel Documents
A valid Passport is an essential travel document while traveling to Malaysia. You should ensure that your passport is valid for at least 6 months beyond your intended stay in Malaysia. If your national passport is not recognized by Malaysian Government, then you must carry an authorized travel document issued by the Malaysian Mission in your country to travel to Malaysia.

All foreign visitors are required to fill up a Disembarkation Card (IMM. 26) and hand it over to the Immigration Officer on arrival along with the passport at the port of disembarkation.

Types of VisasĀ 
There are three types of visas issued by the Malaysian Government.

  • Single Entry Visais for a single entry to Malaysia and is normally valid for a period of 3 months from the date of issue. It is generally applicable for those who wish to make a short social visit.
  • Multiple Entry Visasare usually meant for business visits and can have a validity period of 3 to 6 months. However, nationals of India and China can apply for multiple entry visas even for social/tourism related visits. Such visa usually has a validity of 1 year from the date of issue. However, each entry can not be for more than 30 days.

To get a multiple entry visa as a tourist, you will need to show that you have sufficient funds to sustain your stay in Malaysia and also have a return ticket.
Currently, single or multiple entry visa fee of Indians is RM50, and for Chinese Nationals is RM30 (updated 30th Aug 2012).

  • Transit Visais issued to those who are travelling to other countries via Malaysia and will need or like to leave the airport premises while in Malaysia.

Visa requirement by country
Depending on your home country (nationality) and period of stay in Malaysia, you may or may not need to get a visa prior to your travel to Langkawi or any other part of Malaysia. Some nationals would always require visas even if the stay is a short one, while some would require visa if the intended stay is beyond a stipulated period.

Countries that always require visa to enter Malaysia
Afghanistan (Visa with reference), Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo Democratic Republic, Congo Republic, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong (C/I or D/I), India, Liberia, Mali, Mozambique, Myanmar (ordinary passport), Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Serbia & Montenegro, Sri Lanka, Taiwan (15 days without visa), United Nations (Laissez Passer), Western Sahara.

Countries that require visa for stays exceeding 3 months
Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria (Vienna), Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, St Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Yemen

Countries that require visa for stays exceeding 1 month
Armenia, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea Republic, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao SAR, Macedonia, Madagascar, Moldova, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Nicaragua, North Korea, North Yemen, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Russia, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Slovenia, Sudan, Surinam, Tajikistan, Togo, Ukraine, Upper Volta, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Venezuela, Zaire, Zimbabwe.

Countries that require visa for stays exceeding 14 days
Iran, Iraq, Libya, Macao (Travel Permit/Portugal CI), Palestine, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Yemen, Syria, Cote d’ivoire / ivory coast

Visa requirement for other countries

  • Citizens of USA do not require visa to enter Malaysia (except for those who come on a job)
  • ASEAN Countries: Except for Myanmar, nationals of other ASEAN countries will not require a visa for Malaysia as long as the stay is for less than 1 month. Beyond that it will be required for all except for Singapore and Brunei.
  • Israel nationals would always require visas and additionally permission must be taken from Ministry of Home Affairs of Malaysia.
  • Republic of Serbia and Republic of Montenegro nationals will also require visas to enter Malaysia, however no separate permission is required from Ministry of Home Affairs.
  • All other Nationals (i.e. those who are not mentioned in above sections like Canada etc.) do not require visas for Malaysia for stays up to one month.
    ***Updated March 2012

How to apply for Malaysia Visa
You can apply for the visa at any Malaysian representative Office in your home country. For example in India, you can make your visa application at the Malaysian High Commission located in New Delhi. Tourists from India and China can also apply for visa online through I-Visa system.

Whichever type of visa you may apply for (i.e. single or multiple entry or transit), there are two cases while making the application:

1) Application for Visa without reference (this is applicable for general tourists). The visa is issued by the High Commission of Malaysia. You will be required to produce the following documents:

Original passport

  • Two photocopies of your passport
  • Two photocopies of the visa application form (Form IMM.47)
  • Two passport size photographs (with white background)
  • Original and two photocopies of the ticket (confirmed returned ticket)
  • Bank statement / traveler’s cheque
  • Invitation letter (if any)
  • Payment of visa fee

2) Application for Visa With Reference (this is required for students, professionals with visit pass, those going on employment, dependants etc). The visa is approved by Malaysia’s Department of immigration and/or other agencies with authority after the application has been referred. You will be required to produce the following documents:

  • Original approval letter from the Immigration Department of Malaysia/other authority agencies
  • Original passport
  • Two photocopies of the passport
  • Two photocopies of visa application form (Form IMM.47)
  • Two passport size photographs (with white background)
  • Original and two photocopies of an air ticket
  • Payment of visa fee

Related Articles
1) Langkawi Travel & Tourism Info
2) Getting to Langkawi